Skip to content Skip to navigation

The Diane Middlebrook Graduate Teaching Prize

FGSS Director Christine Min Wotipka and Middlebrook Prize winner Madihah Akhter, 2016


Due to the ongoing global health crisis, the timeline for awarding the Middlebrook Graduate Teaching Prize has changed. We will accept submission through the end of Spring quarter 2020 and will announce the winners over the summer in an event combined with our 2019-20 Honors Thesis Presentations. If the nominee is graduating PhD student, please include a non-Stanford email address with your prize nomination so that we can notify the winners regarding the results and celebratory event.

Nominations are due Friday, June 12, 2020 at 5:00 pm.

The Diane Middlebrook Graduate Teaching Prize is awarded each year to an outstanding graduate student Teaching Assistant or Teaching Fellow for their feminist pedagogy in classes on feminism, gender, and sexuality studies. The winner receives a $1,000 cash award and is honored at our annual Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies banquet.

Accepting nominations NOW!  Click HERE to download the nomination form.

Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies is very proud of the many contributions the graduate community makes to the university. We are pleased to celebrate graduate accomplishment in feminist pedagogy and to recognize the impact graduate teaching assistants and teaching fellows make in the classroom and through their mentoring of undergraduate students.

About Diane Middlebrook

The Middlebrook Prize honors the memory of Diane Middlebrook, a professional writer, and a former Professor of English at Stanford University. She died in 2007 of cancer.

Middlebrook was a part of Stanford’s English faculty for four decades, a leading feminist scholar, and one of the founders of Feminist Studies at Stanford. She is best known for her biographies, especially, Ann Sexton, a Biography, Her Husband, a biography of Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath, and Suits Me: The Double Life of Billy Tipton.

She was a founding trustee of the Djerassi Resident Artists Program, an interdisciplinary arts center in the Santa Cruz Mountains. She was a member of the Panel on Biography for the 1995 Pulitzer Prize, and chaired the Non-Fiction Panel for the National Book Award in 2004.


Recent Recipients

Madihah Akhter
2016 |FEMGEN 101: Intro to Feminist, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Mackenzie Cooley
2015 | HISTORY/FEMGEN 29S: The Animal Other: Humans and Animals in Western History

Alison Fogarty
2014| FEMGEN 140A: Destroying Dichotomies: Exploring Multiple Sex, Gender, & Sexual Identities

Ryan Tacata
2013| Hope House Scholars Program

Jakeya Caruthers
2012| FEMGEN 154: Black Feminist Theory